

SAMSA 2017 (TANZANIA)

SAMSA

Southern Africa Mathematical Sciences Association Annual Conference (20th—23rd November 2017)

Department of Mathematics College of Natural and Applied Sciences University of Dar es Salaam

Conference announcement: The Department of Mathematics at the University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM), will host the 2017 Annual SAMSA conference from Monday 20th to Thursday 23rd November 2017. The conference will bring together researchers in mathematics and allied subjects with a view to share knowledge and enhance networking in teaching and research in mathematics and mathematical science among members and non-members.

Conference website: The conference website http://www.maths.udsm.ac.tz/samsa2017 which is currently under preparation will give detailed and up to date information on various aspects of the planned conference, including registration fees, accommodation, and important dates and deadlines.

Topics: Presentations at the conference will cover all fields of pure and applied mathematics, including, but not limited to, analysis, algebra, differential geometry, financial mathematics, epidemiology, mathematics for industry, theoretical fluid dynamics, statistics, mathematics education, computer science and theoretical physics.

Call for Abstracts: Abstracts must be prepared in LaTeX using the template that will be provided on the conference website.

Visa applications: Invitation letters for those who require such letters for visa applications to enter will be issued on request to the SAMSA Secretary copied to the Secretary of the Local Organizing Committee.

Excursion/Places to visit: The Local Organizing Committee is planning to organize an excursion at the end of the conference to one of the following top tourist attractions in Tanzania: The slopes of Mount Kilimanjaro, the spice islands of Zanzibar, the historic slave trade terminal coast town of Bagamoyo, the Serengeti National Park, or the Ngorongoro Crater.

Contact: Chairperson LOC (Prof. Ralph P. Masenge, masenge2015@gmail.com), Secretary (Dr. Theresia Marijanimarijani@gmail.com), Head of Department (Prof. Eunice Mureithiemureithi@maths.udsm.ac.tz), Members (Dr. Egbert Mujuni, emujuni@udsm.ac.tz),

(Prof. Estomih Massawe, emassawe@maths.udsm.ac.tz),

(Dr. Nyimvua Shaban shabanmbare@gmail.com),

(Dr. Silvester E. Rugeihyamu rugeihyamu@yahoo.com) and

(Dr. David Koloseni dkdavykol@gmail.com)